LIGHTNING STAKES (1200m Open)    
Year Horse Owners Jockey Time    
1995 Panda Lei Messrs TR & WM Hanlin, Mrs LG Hawkings & G McInteer B Hibberd 0.57.16 1000m  
1996 Classic Royal RF Taylor EL Lloyd 0.55.94 1000m  
1997 La Rose Noir Unifaith (NZ) Ltd LC Rutherford 0.57.73 1000m  
1998 It's My Sin GM Bell, Mrs SM Hare, Messrs JF Marks & JS Nuttall TK Allan 0.57.64 1000m  
1999 Star Of Gold Messrs JN Gates, TJ McKee, PW Norrie & JA Voyle LJ Mumby 0.55.80 1000m  
2000 Golden Butterfly Mrs SM Harty DG Bradley 0.56.24 1000m  
2001 Our Aspiration Mrs HO & RT Benton LJ Mumby 0.56.16 1000m  
2002 Able Attempt Messrs AKN Chong, WK Lo, KC Ma & W To DG Bradley 0.57.34 1000m  
2003 Diamond Like Miss EL, Lady & Sir Patrick Hogan, PJ & Mrs NK Hunt LA O'Sullivan 0.55.21 1000m  
2004 Gwen's Rules PG Archer, Mrs BJ Batley, Mrs DL Dravitski & Est late RC Archer LC Rutherford 0.57.06 1000m  
2005 Sovereign JW Campin NG Harris 0.56.98 1000m  
2006* State Of Origin Mrs AM & RM Stevens DM Walsh 1.07.49 1200m  
*Distance change to 1200m from 1000m
2007 Abit Rusty MA & SR Firth CW Johnson 1.10.83 1200m  
2008 O'Cartier Mrs BA Jones CW Treymane 1.07.52 1200m  
2009 Maximum Star P Upton DG Bradley 1.07.17 1200m  
2010 Tip The Wink GR Tomlinson RJ Myers 1.07.24 1200m  
2011 O'Cartier Mrs B A Jones HS Tinsley 1.07.22 1200m J & K Parsons
2012 Eight Schillings D L, S C & N N Archer & Mrs D J Wright SC Spratt 1.07.61 1200m Stephen McKee
2013 Natuzzi J W & Mrs S D Duell CW Johnson 1.08.29 1200m Paul Richards
2014 Natuzzi J W & Mrs S D Duell CW Johnson  n/a 1200m Paul Richards
2015 Whosyourmaster D W & Mrs J A Moss HS Tinsley  1.08.22 1200m O'Sullivan/ Scott
2016 Passing Shot Go Racing The Ace Syndicate LJ Allpress 1.08.67 1200m Stephen McKee & Eddie Chippendale
2017 Signify  Mrs T L Cowan CW Johnson 1.08.78 1200m Alex Cowan
2018 Ferrando Fatesal Holdings Ltd, D E & Mrs E M Olsen, R R Ratcliffe, Redbank Pty Ltd (Mgr: P Favretto), G A Rogerson MNZM, G N Wealleans & G R Wilson M Cameron 1.07.73 1200m Team Rogerson
2019 Volks Lightning Vermair Volks Lightning Syndicate (Mgr: B McCullum) Ryan Elliot 1.10.88 1200m Team Rogerson

The 2019 race was the 13 th recorded running of this event over a distance of 1200m 

Return to previous page

latest info


A Premier Meeting

Gates open: 11:00am

First race: 12:45 pm*

Last race: 5:30 pm

Number of races: 9

Reserved hospitality open: 11:30 am

Race program and times here

"What's On" to come

 *initial race timing schedule is normally available approx 4 weeks from the race day however final timings are not confirmed until the Wednesday of the week of the event.


The $200,000, Group One
Rydges Wellington Captain Cook Stakes WFA over 1600m

The $100 000, Group Two 
Anuka Smoker Wakefield Challenge Stakes over 1200m

For a listing of previous winners and connections click here

$10 Punters Club Tickets

Members Draw

Great Santa Run - enter here

Rydges Wellington Best Dressed - enter here