Return to previous page

While the Wellington Oaks started in 1969, this was superceded after 5 years by the New Zealand Oaks with the distance adjusted to 2400m

Year Horse Owners Jockey Time Trainer
WELLINGTON OAKS (One mile and a quarter and 27 yards)      
1969 Mayo Gold FA & Mrs Conway WD Skelton    
1970 Marnie H & P McCarvill JF Harris    
1971 Susan Jane HP Belsham & HE Hayward EJ Didham    
1972 Port Royal JD & Mrs Lockett JP Riordan    
In 1973 run over one mile and a half
1973 Reachfar Mrs D Macpherson DA Peake    
Became New Zealand Oaks and run over 2400m
1974 Sweet Offer ID & Mrs Parsons GA Phillips 2.29.75  
1975 Princess Patrice DA Hagar & PS Wilson GA Phillips 2.28.5  
1976 Eastern Time JL Chiongbian DA Peake 2.32.00  
1977 La Mer Ext. LA Alexander DH Harris 2.29.25  
1978 Athenaia Sir Tristan Antico, Mrs DH Munro & TJ Smith RD Vance 2.28.5  
1979 Tang DB & EJ Callaghan & RM Miller DH Harris 2.29.25  
1980 Supreme Glory CE Proctor, MG & Mrs Thwaites JW Walker 2.30.25  
1981 Glamour Bay Mesdames K Joe, JH Lindsay & J McAnnalley BS Compton 2.29.25 FR Begueley
1982 Maurita Messrs PR Kearns, A O'Malley & E Yee GJ Childs 2.31.25  
1983 Aulyn BM Mollet GJ Childs 2.28.03  
1984 Zepherin Balcarres Stud Ltd GJ Childs 2.29.11  
1985 Solveig RE & RWE Moore GL Cooksley 2.28.94  
1986 Royal Heights Mr & Mrs RF Douglas W Robinson 2.26.50  
1987 Starline Mesdames MB Macdougall & LS Otway GJ Childs 2.32.30  
1988 Candide M & Miss SA Joseph & Trans Media Park Stud RN Elliot 2.27.96  
1989 Regal Empress RN & Mrs MS Fraser, Mrs JA Lang & NA Leitch CW Treymane 2.30.60  
1990 Domino JW Campin CW Johnson 2.29.81  
1991 Let's Sgor MA Fisher, PM Paterson, EGL Simpson & TG Whiteman LV Cassidy 2.30.22  
1992 Staring Grovedale Trust & MJ Gyde NG Harris 2.28.96 MP Baker
1993 Miltak Miltak Syndicate DM Walsh 2.30.03 DJ & PD O'Sullivan
1994 Snap Mrs LM O'Sullivan & Lord Tavistock LA O'Sullivan 2.28.17 DJ & PD O'Sullivan
1995 Tartin Tights GL Robertson CW Johnson 2.26.26 EA Winsloe
1996 Alacrity Mrs A & D Paykel & Mrs EI Wells B Hibberd 2.28.87 MD Moroney
1997 Sawatdee Messrs IB Cassels, CF Dunbar, AE & RO Nicol CW Johnson 2.28.71 AR Howatson
1998 Tycoon Lil PJ Walker CW Johnson 2.31.10 C Jillings
1999 Savannah Success Messrs JM Haseler & GA Rogerson LA O'Sullivan 2.28.48 GA Rogerson 
2000 She's Country TJ Bodle OP Bosson 2.29.80 BJ Wallace
2001 Tapildo Messrs LK Laxon, IM & ST Taplin MR Du Plessis 2.28.05 Ms S Laxon
2002 Vapour Trail BM Sherwin S Seamer 2.30.88 D & Mrs D Logan
2003 Bramble Rose Rivermonte Racing Syndicate No 1 OP Bosson 2.27.71 M Todd
2004 Wharite Princess NM Cantwell, MR Curd, TA Robinson, KJ Tod, KR Williams & RJ Wong BS Herd 2.26.88 Miss LM Latta
2005 Justa Tad RP Liefting VA Colgan 2.29.52 RP Leifting
2006 Legs Waikato Stud 2001 Ltd DJ Walker 2.29.42 K Gray 
2007 Princess Coup Bromley Bloodstock Ltd & RA Coupland OP Bosson 2.32.94 M Walker
2008 Boundless PA Dallimore, TJ McKee ONZM, PN Miller & Mrs CN Taylor HS Tinsley 2.28.74 SJ McKee
2009 Jungle Rocket C & Mrs L Betts, Mrs C & D Pleasance JB McDonald 2.30.07 J McVean
2010 Keep The Peace PE Bellingham, L|R & LRD Dittman OP Bosson 2.28.49 SF Ritchie
2011 Midnight Oil Nineteenth Syndicate RJ Myers 2.30.04 P Duncan
2012 Artistic The Oaks Stud MT  Coleman 2.28.39 SF Ritchie
2013 More Than Sacred Raffles Dancers (NZ) Pty Ltd LG Innes 2.30.46 AS Pike/M Donoghue

2014 Miss Mossman RBC Racing J Parkes 2.27.78 J Sargent/H Allen
2015 Savaria D P & Mrs K C Fleming HS Tinsley 2.29.67 RJ Bergerson
2016 Fanatic S P Kiernan MD Hills 2.29.47 G Sanders & D Sweeney
2017 Bonneval T W Jarvis, A R Lawrence & J A Rattray M Cameron


MP Baker & AC Forsman
2018 Savvy Coup Mrs A M, A R, C J, F H & J F Bruford, Mrs J D, L R & R A Coupland CW Johnson


MR & MM Pitman
2019 Sentimental Miss Go Racing Yesteryear Syndicate Lisa Allpress


Lisa Latta

The 2019 race was the 80th recorded running of this event

Return to previous page

latest info


A Premier Meeting

Gates open: 11:00am

First race: 12:45 pm*

Last race: 5:30 pm

Number of races: 9

Reserved hospitality open: 11:30 am

Race program and times here

"What's On" to come

 *initial race timing schedule is normally available approx 4 weeks from the race day however final timings are not confirmed until the Wednesday of the week of the event.


The $200,000, Group One
Rydges Wellington Captain Cook Stakes WFA over 1600m

The $100 000, Group Two 
Anuka Smoker Wakefield Challenge Stakes over 1200m

For a listing of previous winners and connections click here

$10 Punters Club Tickets

Members Draw

Great Santa Run - enter here

Rydges Wellington Best Dressed - enter here