North Island Challenge Stakes Winners

Return to previous page

The North Island Challnge Stakes is a race of tremendous historical value.

At least six horses are in the NZ Racing Hall of Fame who have won the race, Desert Gold, Gloaming, Kindergarten, Mainbrace, Grey Way and Show Gate.

Great support also by other great names in the past like Panzer Chief, Star Belle, Yahabeebe, Coleridge, Defaaulter, Beau Vite, Somerset Fair etc.



North Island Challenge Stakes (Seven furlongs then 1400m)
Year Horse Owners Jockey Time Trainer  
1899  Screw Gun  G G Stead  W Holmes  1.30    
1900  Formosan   G G Stead  W Holmes  1.35.2    
1901  Menschikoff  G G Stead  R Derrett  1.28.8    
1902  Porirua  D Gordon  C Jenkins  1.31    
latest info