Return to previous page

Winners for races prior to those listed are still to be tabulated.

WHYTE HANDICAP (1600m Open)    
Year Horse Owners Jockey Time Trainer  
1979 Rising Damp KE Hunt & WLA Wickham TG Williams 1.48.25 WLA Wickman  
1980 Cullimore Miss JJ Cain & PH Ray BS Compton 1.47.75 JE & JW Winder  
1981 Cullimore Miss JJ Cain & PH Ray BS Compton 1.44.50 JE & JW Winder  
1982 Deltello GR & Mrs MC Allision PG Tims 1.43.25 TL Jennings  
1983 Greek Meer JH Young PW Fearon 1.44.41 JG Taylor  
1984 Greek Meer JH Young PW Fearon 1.45.16 JG Taylor  
1985 Always Summer D Grubb, DJ & JD Wilkie DM Walsh 1.42.62 D & KJ Grubb  
1986 Always Summer Australian Breeding Stables Ltd NG Harris 1.48.54 D Grubb  
1987 Jimmy Te Cobai KW Thompson RB McKay 1.46.88 KW Thompson  
1988 Rongonui JC Davey, RJ Jopson, JH Lawson & WB Neiderer B Hibberd 1.45.23 WL Collett  
1989 Open Terrain A J Watson T K Allan 1.47.32 G K Sanders  
1990 Steely Dan Messrs W T Callaghan, R L Kennedy, J C Parkes & A J J Parkinson DM Walsh 1.46.97 T R Gillies  
1991 Open Terrain A J Watson BA Phillips 1.47.32 G K Sanders  
1992 Gregory Lane D G Wells  RJ Hannam 1.46.66 J H Clement  
1993 Balinchy K J Caldwell NG Harris 1.48.05 M P Baker  
1994 Red Baron Karaka Turf Limited & Company LA O'Sullivan 1.44.33 SJ & TJ McKee  
1995 Grey Label JH Clement BS Herd 1.47.10 JH Clement  
1996 Clean Cut Mrs JJ & LG Cowan JD Hayes 1.51.00 LG Cowan   
1997 Super Crest LA Lovett NG Harris 1.48.93 JG Sargent   
1998 Create Havoc JW Debreceny J Walker 1.50.65 ND Eales  
1999 Bella Astarta The Brown Filly Syndicate (Mgr DW Wallace)  DJ Walker 1.46.76 J Wallace  
2000 Little Wizard Little Wizard Syndicate LJ Mumby 1.41.11 GD Innes  
2001 Jennibegood Mrs AL & GJ Hill JEM Rogers 1.43.08 N Bradley  
2002 Miss Trust Mrs ET & WA Taylor TJ Russell 1.55.60  WA Taylor  
*2003 Starbo A E & A H James B Hibberd 1.47.07  A James  
2004 Meeting abandoned        
2005 Meeting abandoned         
2006 Bernard Rex RE Clement & Mrs JA Sloan AJ Calder 1.50.88   At Awapuni
2007 Buena Ventura BJ Foster, PC Glover, CW & SR Just, PL Meo & GA Rogerson MNZM BS Herd 1.46.31 GA Rogerson  
2008 Meeting abandoned        
2009 High Powered N Booth, WL Cathie, L Chan, GL Cox & P Sue NG Harris 1.49.75 JR Lynds  
2010 Eric The Viking AB & NJ Bidlake, L Boere, G Burnard, BG Krivan, S Searle & N Williams RJ Hannam 1.55.23 AB Bidlake  
2011 Matost S B Gutry, A C Morris & M J Phillips M Wenn 1.55.53 M Phillips  
2012 Propel Ms K L Morris & H Renall HS Tinsley 1.49.63 HJ Renall  
2013 Matost S B Gutry, A C Morris, M J Phillips M Dravitski 1.52.36 M Phillips  
2014 Share The Blame G D Innes & D J Williamson N Teeluck 1.46.82 GD Innes  
2015 Our Gazza Mrs B R & C J Condren, Ms M A Mountier & W D Skelton MBE J Parkes 1.48.75 Miss LM Latta  
2016 Platinum Command Lincoln Farms Ltd & N J McAlister M Tanaka 1.45.48 Miss LM Latta  
2017 Meeting abandoned          
2018 Dez S G Lennox, P I Mitchell & S J E Wilson  Darryl Bradley 1.50.93 Simon Wilson  

* race lost its Black Type Status

Return to previous page

latest info


A Premier Meeting

Gates open: 11:00am

First race: 12:45 pm*

Last race: 5:30 pm

Number of races: 9

Reserved hospitality open: 11:30 am

Race program and times here

"What's On" to come

 *initial race timing schedule is normally available approx 4 weeks from the race day however final timings are not confirmed until the Wednesday of the week of the event.


The $200,000, Group One
Rydges Wellington Captain Cook Stakes WFA over 1600m

The $100 000, Group Two 
Anuka Smoker Wakefield Challenge Stakes over 1200m

For a listing of previous winners and connections click here

$10 Punters Club Tickets

Members Draw

Great Santa Run - enter here

Rydges Wellington Best Dressed - enter here