Levin Classic Winners


The Levin Classic conceived in 1981, it has become of the most important for the aspiring thoroughbred champion. From 1989 for fifteen years known as the Bayer Classic, it is the first opportunity for three year olds to meet at set weights, the Classic has often been the stepping-stone to greater things.

Of the fillies, Our Flight and Phillipa Rush have defeated the colts and geldings, going on to win champion status. One in three Levin Classics are won by the fair sex. As a progression from the Guineas races held at Riccarton in November, the race has franked the form remarkably well. Nine of seventeen guineas winners have repeated their success in winning the Classic.

This is a race that defines the top racehorse. Over half the winners of the Classic have ranked in the top three horses of their year. Unsurprisingly, this race attracts more entries than any race for horses of their age. While the stake is seriously large, it’s the prestige associated with the Levin Classic that owners and trainers seek. For many, a win in the Classic will justify a trip across the Tasman in search of greater spoils.

This is a race that makes champions. Horses like, Our Flight, Bonecrusher, Veandercross and O’Reilly have won the Classic. Who will be today’s champion?

Levin classic winners

* Race transferred from Levin Racecourse to Otaki Racecourse

The 2019 race was the 38th recorded running of the event